In my previous post, I said that I received an offer for my camera, my old camera that is for RM1000. As I expected, after the earlier scam, this one was a bogus buyer too. He, too was an oversea buyer and offered to transfer the money to me via bank transfer. Below is the so called transfer confirmation done by Roy :
![]()
Notice that the pattern is the same, they ask for shipping confirmation to be posted to the Email given. in this one its tracking_verification2@consultant.com , in the other one it was citib_shipverfy@consultant.com . but basically it’s a consultant.com domain email. so beware of these emails.
I did some digging on the internet and I found a forum post that came from the year 2007 about the same scam which others had been a victim of. It was exactly the same email and bank name. In the forum, one said this has the hallmark of the Nigerian scam which explains why I traced the scammers email to Nigeria. So it seems I was not the first one, not even by a long shot. I guess this scam has been going on for some time and I’m sure people familiar to Mudah.my are accustomed to these scams. but for amateurs like me, luckily I spotted something wrong with the transaction, else I would have been another statistic.
What I can say to those interested on selling on Mudah.my, is ONLY, and I stress on ONLY, sell to Malaysians and don’t even bother selling to people overseas.




2 commentsback to post
#1Ken26/10/2010, 3:02 pm
iMyn, great job on keeping your cool and not being scammed.
And thanks a bunch for the screenshot and the IP address proof hahahaha.
Awesome!!
#2iMyn27/10/2010, 6:37 pm
Well, its a matter of identifying who has the leverage…knowing how banks transfer money also helps. besides, the webdesign on the fake bank notification really sucks big time. No way a bank will allow that level of webdesign in their services
Add your comment